Volume 7 No 1 April 2016

Automotive Fine Arts Society Overview

In 1983, six individuals established an organization designed to help them share their passion for automobiles through art. Now called the Automotive Fine Arts Society, this elite group of artists has flourished and garners a reputation as the central organization for those who use automobiles as the primary subject of their works. AFAS symbolizes the highest levels of professionalism and talent in the world.

AFAS membership features international painters and sculptors from across Europe and North America. The group and its members participates in select shows across the country including the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance (Carmel, CA, USA). The Pebble Beach show takes place on the 18th fairway of the Lodge at Pebble Beach, and includes depictions of automotive subjects in a variety of mediums including watercolors, acrylics, oils, wood and various metals.

AFAS’s objectives are to exhibit, promote and publicize fine works of automotive art by its members. AFAS also strives to raise the standards of automotive art to a level that will be accepted as serious works of art by collectors and critics. In addition, AFAS provides a practical means to form enduring friendships, exchange ideas and build a fellowship among automotive fine artists.

Members are involved in charitable endeavors supporting the Pebble Beach Concours Charitable Foundation. AFAS also helped create a Children’s Art Competition to benefit the Carroll Shelby Children’s Foundation™. Additional information about AFAS and its members is available by contacting Scott Black at (214) 520-3430 or at www.autoartgallery.com/afas

+ Paul Bracq
Larry Braun
*Melbourne Brindle
Dennis Brown
*John W. Burgess, Sr.
David Chapple
Ken Dallison
*Carlo Demand
Jim Dietz
Ken Eberts
Art Fitzpatrick
Tom Fritz
*Walter Gotschke
Tom Hale
Peter Hearsey
*Peter Helck
Dennis A. Hoyt
Jack Juratovic
Jay Koka
*Phyllis Krim
#David Lord
Charles Maher
John Marsh
Bill Motta
Niles Nakaoka
Bill Neale
Richard Pietruska
Stanley Rose
Barry Rowe
Tony Sikorski
Klaus Wagger
#Stanley Wanlass
Bruce Wheeler
Gary Whinn
Nicola Wood


Sue Steele Thomas